DJ Carnita Eats Out

He really loves ribs!

DJ Carnita loves his ribs! Image by Tom Camilleri



DJ Carnita is part of the Hard French team that has become one of San Francisco’s newest and cutest Saturday afternoon soul and music dance parties. We haven’t sat down and shared food together yet – though we have spent a lot of time making out on the dance floor.

DJ Carnita and I locking lips at Booty Call Wednesdays.

“Get a room” has been yelled out at us from across the bar. And, that’s just what we plan to do next month in Santa Cruz at Hard French’s annual fete. I’m proud to be one of the sponsors of their Winter Ball – where a new King and Queen will be crowned in a grand coronation. Hard French is also joining me again this year with my Annual Funky Chicken Dinner at Mars Bar benefiting Dining Out For Life / Dine Out & Fight AIDS.

Hard French Winter Ball

DJ Carnita answers my foodie questionnaire here:

What is your favorite dessert?
A White Russian.  As far as desserts that are less than 80 proof go I’m a sucker for red velvet.  My personal favorites are the red velvet cupcakes at Yvonne’s Southern Sweets in the Bayview district of San Francisco.

What restaurant would you call your home?
It would have to be Taqueria San Jose on 24th and Mission.  I’ve lived near it for years and it’s my favorite place to take new dates and impress them with my ‘off the beaten path’ foodie prowess.  Their carnitas are so good that I named myself after them.  Seriously, namesake carnitas, what more do you need to  know?  It’s also the best spot to duck into on a Friday or Saturday night when there’s a line of belligerent bar-hoppers out the door at Farolito across the intersection.  You avoid the line, avoid the threat of having someone puke on your shoes and the food is way better to boot!

What is the strangest or most inspiring thing you’ve ever eaten?
The (in)famous grasshopper tacos at La Oxaquena.  I didn’t even order it, I’d ordered a venison taco and when it came I thought it looked a bit funny.  It took a couple bites before I realized that something was horribly wrong and my mistake, well, the many legged mistakes in my tortilla, became apparent.  There was a guy I was with that I was trying to impress so I forced the rest of the critters down my throat with a grin on my face but it was wholly unpleasant.  The health department actually banned the taco recently so at least I had it while I could.

What was your favorite breakfast cereal as a kid?
Magic Stars.  They were the Vons brand Lucky Charms.  My Mom was a coupon clipping, generic buying grocery shopper so I took what I could get.

What is your favorite food to pig-out on after the club?
Any place with nachos including the aforementioned Taqueria San Jose.  I have a serious problem with blackout nachos.  It’s no laughing matter to wake up in the morning lying sideways in your  bed with half your clothes off and pieces of chips and beans plastered to the side of your head.

Check out the video below of DJ Carnita on the Bay Area’s Check Please!

Check Please!