Over the past 5 years I’ve completely stopped reading books. Well, except for cookbooks. I can somehow read a cookbook from cover to cover. I even enjoy reading how the index is written. Cookbook authors have different ways that they like to index things. I appreciate a good index. I love when an ingredient is listed in all areas that it is used. And, am terribly annoyed when recipes run for more than two pages!

I recently picked up the cookbook Ready for Dessert by David Lebovitz. In the mid 80’s David was the pastry chef at Chez Panisse. I spent many nights sitting at the private little table in the kitchen of Chez Panisse. And I always gushed when he would leave something extra on the table for us to try. He is currently living in Paris and has a really great food blog that I love to follow.

If you like to make ice cream I suggest you grab his book and try the Mexican chocolate. It is to die for.

 

