Lead guitarist for the Scissor Sisters and fellow foodie-friend Del Marquis helps fill in the blanks on his eating habits.

Del Marquis / Image Juanita MORE!

What is your favorite dessert?

When I was a child, it was strawberry shortcake every year for my birthday… then I discovered the Cannoli cake, which is a basic vanilla sponge covered and filled with Cannoli cream that our local Italian baker made.

Petit Fours

Nowadays I’d have to say the Petit Four; I love ganache, I love jams and marmalade filling…Almandine or hazelnut based sponge and dense icing, flowers optional but always appreciated!

What restaurant would you call your home?

I’m short on options in my relatively new neighborhood, although this is changing rapidly; but the most consistent place is Dutch Boy Burgers.

Dutch Boy Burger

Every time I come home from tour or travel, I’ll call for take away ten minuets from my house, it’s a ritual.  I get a Dutch Boy Burger (Brioche bun, soaked with juices, medium rare burger, caramelized onions, cheddar) Onion rings (sometimes cooked in Duck fat) and a Vanilla Milk Shake (made with homemade Ice cream from Blue Marble).  If they have the apple pie, I’ll get a slice of that too.

What is the dish that most impressed you?

Kobe Beef at Alinea

It was at Alinea in Chicago; I had a 13 course tasting meal which lasted 3 hours… one of the first dishes to come out was a Kobe beef medallion that was cooking on the plate over a scalding hot river rock, which in turn was on a bed of juniper that was giving off a smoky incense from the heat… I always think about that dish when I think of something that made an impression on me.

What was your favorite breakfast cereal as a kid?

It was and still is Lucky Charms. This is usually hidden on the tour bus because it is considered contraband by our trainer.  I have to slide it out of the cabinet, grab the milk…and make my cup (safer than a bowl in a moving vehicle) in the back lounge, out of site.

What is your favorite food to pig-out on after the club?

If I’m hungry, I’m not picky.  I mean, I have standards I won’t go below, but it can be a primal scene for sure with few limits!

Del Marquis / Image Juanita MORE!

