Bittersweet Chocolate Ganache

I’ve always loved the word “ganache” – it has a lot of style. And, I am a confessed chocoholic.  I used to eat a pound of See’s Candy a week. You see the company’s oldest store was located just around the corner from my apartment on Polk Street. I was sad when they closed and then the shop at Union Square closed and I thought it was a sign from God that my chocolate intake had grown way out of control. But the news that they weren’t supporting domestic partner benefits finally sent me over the edge and I stopped buying See’s Candy all together. That kind of news about a company can be really hard to shake. – sorta like a bee sting. It’s hard to forget.

Since all this drama has gone down my chocolate intake has been drastically cut. But I still get a craving around 9PM for a little something. The other day I made chocolate ganache for a hot fudge sundae. My favorite part about making a ganache is the leftovers! All you need is a big spoon and your chocolate craving has been satisfied.

Pastry Chef Johnny Luzzini

Hottie pastry chef Johnny Luzzini has this really simple recipe. Be sure your chocolate is chopped fine as it makes it easier to melt.

Johnny Luzzini’s Chocolate Ganache

Ingredients:

12 1/2 ounces bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped

2 cups heavy cream

Directions:

Place chocolate in a large heatproof bowl. Bring heavy cream to a boil in a small saucepan. Add 1/4 of the cream to the chocolate and stir with a spatula until the chocolate begins to melt. Continue adding the cream, in three batches, stirring after each addition, until the chocolate is melted and the mixture is smooth and shiny. Place plastic wrap directly on the surface and keep at room temperature until ready to use.

