My longtime friend Heklina answers my foodie questionnaire. She is the creator of Trannyshack, San Francisco’s infamous drag performance night club, which shocked and delighted packed audiences every Tuesday night at midnight for over twelve years – which I am proud to say I blacked-out at more times than I can remember. But, aside from nightclubs and blacking-out, Heklina and I have shared many a meal. I once roasted us a delicious side of beef ribs – total Flintstones style – it was as though our dreams came true. We ate so much – and got so sick after! She’s also a big world traveler and when she’s not spending her spare time on her knees – opps! – I mean she’s always busy trying all kinds of food from all over the world.

Heklina

What is your favorite dessert?

How cruel that you are asking me these questions now that I am on a food program! My favorite desserts are (depending on my mood) strawberry shortcake or a real moist, trashy Duncan Hines chocolate cake with frosting-none of that gourmet chocolate cake for me! I’m a girl with simple tastes. What else do I like? Chocolate Chip Cookies, Macaroons, Fudge, See’s Candies (Nuts & Chews). What am I actually eating these days? Sugar free jello

Heklina by Jose Guzman Colon

What restaurant would you call home?

I tend to go more for comfort food, so nothing beats a nice steak or piece of meat. Again, I’m going to be trashy and say I feel at home at House of Prime Rib on Van Ness St..

But, if I’m crawling out of bed, of course I just go somewhere close like Chow on Church (at Market) or The Crepevine (if it’s too busy at Chow) , also on Church. Crepevine has great salads, which are all important at the moment (no croutons!).

What is the strangest or most inspiring thing you’ve ever eaten?

The strangest was when I was in Thailand, and I decided to eat everything that I saw on the food-carts on the street. I don’t know what possessed me, but I ate crickets, worms, sheep brains, etc. Anything! When in Rome, I guess, but I wouldn’t dare do that now.

As far as inspiring? Well, I’ve been very inspired lately by staying in and cooking, and I’m actually getting pretty good at it. I live for my Crockpot!

What was your favorite breakfast cereal as a kid?

I always wanted the really sugary ones, like Captain Crunch or FrankenBerry, but my mom wouldn’t buy them. She bought Cheerios, which I then covered in sugar.

What is your favorite place to pig-out on after the club?

Back in the day? Anything, we often went out to eat after Trannyshack-my favorite was Baghdad café for a hamburger and fries, and a strawberry milkshake.

What do I eat now after the club? A couple of ounces of chicken breast and a few Ak Mak crackers. Oh, how times have changed……..

