Hoku Mama Swamp by Austin Young 2011

When I’m working in Los Angeles I generally stay with my niece Hoku Mama Swamp. Not only is she an amazing friend, personality and stage performer but she is also responsible for editing some of queer TV’s most popular shows – like RuPaul’s Drag Race & Drag U. When I arrive in LA – we go directly to one of our favorite restaurants for lunch. I usually want to have pizza at Pizzeria Mozza. We sit and discuss where we are going to eat while we are eating. This year we are spending New Years Eve together in Hawaii – home to both of our families. I’m so excited already and can’t wait to eat Spam, have Loco Moco and other amazing island food adventures. Hoku Mama Swamp answers my foodie questionnaire here:

What restaurant would you call your home?
Due to my current location, I’d have to say Chadaka Thai in Burbank.  I can’t get enough Pad See Ew, ever!  However, If it was closer to where I live, I’d pitch a tent at Din Tai Fung and eat pork buns and dumplings until the arrival of the Apocalypse …
What is the strangest or most inspiring thing you’ve ever eaten?
I was always a very picky and specifically non adventurous eater growing up, so the first time I had beef tar tar seemed strange to me, but I did like it.  My first experience with Indian food was definitely inspiring… it was a world of new flavors for me, and I fell in love!  It also opened me up to trying all sorts of other ethnic foods, I didn’t fear or avoid new food experiences anymore.

What was your favorite breakfast cereal as a kid?
Coco Puffs, or the generic equivalent.  We couldn’t afford name brand anything when I was young.

What is your favorite food to pig-out on after the club?
Can’t pig out on it all the time, but when I wanna “do it up”… it’s all about the “Nugget” from Grubstake.  Out of control ridiculousness!

Hoku and I at the Grubstake!

