I’m a sucker for food television. I could keep the TV on in the background rotating on food channels all day. I feel like I got suckered into liking “Chopped” – I’m totally addicted to it. Some of the secret ingredients in the box are absolutely disgusting together. I don’t know how those judges taste some of the crap put in front of them.  And I’m not shy about saying what a hater I am when it comes to Rachel Ray. I don’t believe that she cares about how America eats. My jaw was literally on the floor when I saw her create this recipe for a Mac N Cheese Burger. Does she really believe that her audience needs to feed their kids a bazillion extra calories and be proud to call it a home cooked meal?

Public television has my favorite cooking shows. It’s a joy to watch Lidia Bastianich pour all her love into a dish in her kitchen. And, Rick Bayless continues to inspire me with his vast knowledge of Mexican cuisine.

Lidia Bastianich

At some point in the day I always end up watching America’s Test Kitchen. Though most of what they prepare I have no interest in repeating – there are the occasional tips that make my kitchen run more efficiently. I love this recipe for Oven Fried Bacon. It frees up your stove-top from grease splatters and allows you to get your eggs flipped over-easily.

Recipe: Oven-Fried Bacon
Serves 4 to 6

Use a large, rimmed baking sheet, such as a jelly-roll pan, that is shallow enough to promote browning, yet tall enough (at least 3⁄4 inch in height) to contain the rendered bacon fat. To save time, you can add the bacon to the oven before it reaches 400 degrees, but exact cooking time will vary from oven to oven. If cooking more than one tray of bacon, exchange their oven positions once about halfway through the cooking process.

12 slices bacon, thin- or thick-cut

1. Adjust oven rack to middle position and heat oven to 400 degrees. Arrange bacon slices in a large jelly-roll pan or other shallow baking pan. Roast until fat begins to render, 5 to 6 minutes; rotate pan front-to-back. Continue roasting until crisp and brown, 5 to 6 minutes longer for thin-sliced bacon, 8 to 10 minutes for thick-cut. Transfer with tongs to paper towel–lined plate, drain and serve.

