Sean B Eats Out

Sean B

I met Sean B through our mutual friend Del Marquis of the Scissor Sisters. We’ve actually had the same circle of friends since the early 90’s when Sean was part of the nightlife party Product in San Francisco. He is now part of the team that produces the amazing  roving monthly party SPANK – that serves as the release event for Spank Zine and brings together trend leaders from the art world and the downtown NYC performance scene.

Spank 3 Year Anniversary Party 2010 Justin Bond, One-Half Nelson, Sean B, Juanita MORE!, DJ Will Automagic

Sean is currently a resident DJ at SPANK Loft Party, Xanadude, and Clubber Down Disco at the Chelsea Hotel.

We love sharing our favorite restaurants when we visit each others cities. And, I’m tickled pink that though he doesn’t eat pork –  he makes an exception when it comes to eating my tamales. He is our guest DJ this week at Booty Call Wednesdays.

Sean B answers my foodie questionnaire here:

What is your favorite dessert?
By far, Sticky Toffee Pudding.

What restaurant would you call your home?
Chavella’s in Brooklyn is my Mom’s kitchen, the tacos aren’t my go to here but the enchiladas and the mole are delicious.

What is the strangest or most inspiring thing you’ve ever eaten?
There was an epic meal at Alinea in Chicago with Del, but for single item… at this odd small dinner I attended that Rocco Dispirito was cooking and he served a appetizer of duck egg yolk wrapped in puff pastry, cooked in brown butter with caviar on top that gave me a leg-trembling foodgasm.

What was your favorite breakfast cereal as a kid?
I’m the youngest of four, and my parents nutritional morality was pretty worn down by the time I was eatin’ cereal. My oldest brother was only allowed those big blocks of shredded wheat (no sugar on top either!) but by the time they got to me I was allowed Frosted Flakes and boy I loved me some Tony the Tiger!

What is your favorite food to pig-out on after the club?
For a long time Vaselka’s potato Pirogi’s with sour cream and caramelized onions were the ultimate but honestly I’m satisfied with something much lighter these days – two eggs and cheese on a bagel.

