Holy McGrail Eats Out. The self-proclaimed “Drag Queen with a pussy” – Holy McGrail stands out as one of San Francisco’s premier Faux Queens.

Holy McGrail

She is most noted for styling and creating her own amazing over-the-top wigs and her incredibly long manicure nails. The biggest wig I’ve seen her wear  was one she designed for a Miss Trannyshack Pageant and came in at 8’H X 10’W – that opened, lit up and spinned on top. Many of her performances have involved food of some kind – including bologna, drinking hot sauce directly out of the bottle, and sticking a corn cob in her love hole while corn popped out of her head. We have been neighbors for years and have shared many an early morning aisle stroll through our local grocery store –  searching for the perfect hangover cure.

The hot sauce!

Holy McGrail answers my foodie questionnaire here:

What is your favorite dessert?
My girlfriend Jodi is one of the best pastry chefs in San Francisco and I love everything she has ever made from her Whoopie pies, truffles, ice cream, cakes, pies, etc. My baby can make it all. But my absolute favorite dessert of hers would be the moist and warm pumpkin bread pudding with the most amazing caramel praline sauce drizzled on top. Oh my stars and hips!

What restaurant would you call your home?
I love Cha Cha Cha’s in the Haight. I love their absolutely delicious tapas, funky décor, great atmosphere and of course a pitcher (or 3) of their fabulous sangria. Always a great time especially with a group of great friends.

What is the strangest or most inspiring thing you’ve ever eaten?
The strangest thing I’ve ever had would have to be Pork Dinuguan. It is a Filipino dish with diced pork, frozen pigs blood, diced pork liver and a vinegary sauce. It ain’t pretty to look at, but it’s amazing…especially when my mom makes it. But the most inspiring food would have to be Juanita MORE’s famous Fried Chicken with Honey Goo. I find myself adding honey to any fried chicken now although it is not the same as Juanita’s legendary chicken.

What was your favorite breakfast cereal as a kid?
Cap ‘n Crunch with Crunch Berries! But I loved all kinds of cereals…especially the ones with the best toy prize advertised on the box.

What is your favorite food to pig-out on after the club?
The legendary Bob’s Donuts on Polk street! The freshly made apple fritters at 3am in the morning is a lovely way to end a fantastic evening or a quick snack before heading out to the next party.

Holy enjoying a corndog!

