Marga Gomez Eats Out

Marga Gomez by Kent Taylor

I don’t mean to be redundant when I say Marga Gomez Eats Out – but, you could probably take that literally. She is an amazing San Francisco based solo performer and comic who is constantly thinking one step of ahead of you. Her latest one woman show “Not Getting Any Younger” is at the Marsh Theater though February 25, 2012 – and it is not to be missed! She came over to interview me for one of her podcasts last year and we sat at my dining room table cracking each other up. There is something about Marga besides the fact that she is a fellow Puerto Rican – that reminds me of my family. She is down to earth and always curious about what you’re doing. I’m hoping to have her over for some arroz con gandules soon. She also produces a weekly show “Comedy Bodega” every Thursday at Esta Noche in the Mission District.

Marga Gomez at Esta Noche

Marga Gomez answers my foodie questionnaire here:

What is your favorite dessert?

Warm strawberry rhubarb pie with a scoop of Bi-Rite Creamery vanilla ice cream

What restaurant would you call your home?

Star Belly in the Castro. Everything they make tastes superb. It was also the former site of Josie’s Cabaret where I learned how to be funny.

What is the strangest or most inspiring thing you’ve ever eaten?

Psychedelic mushrooms picked fresh out of a cow pie in Hawaii. I was inspired for 2 days.

What was your favorite breakfast cereal as a kid?

Rice Krispies because they were so noisy.

What is your favorite food to pig-out on after the club?

Love this question. If I can get to Geary and Mason – I hit the late night noodle bar Katana-Ya for ramen, udon and/or sushi. They’re open till 2AM and the waitresses are cool.

Marga has always loved cake!

