Scooter LaForge Eats Out

Scooter LaForge by Tim Groen

Scooter and I met and became the best of friends during the early 90’s in San Francisco. At the time we both lived in the Tenderloin District of SF where his art studio was located and came alive. We’ve shared many meals together at my place. We even once baked a blueberry pie together (which I stubbornly decided tasted awful and threw in the trash). With his upbringing from Las Curces, New Mexico – Scooter is especially fond of Mexican food.  I would cook plenty of it but in particularly – he loved when I made menudo. Since his move to NYC Scooters artwork has blown up  – his paintings, prints and t-shirts are coveted by a cross section of downtown society. His work is dark, sexual and funny – sometimes filled with recognizable cartoon icons, erect penises and unspoken subject matter. He will have his first one-man show in October of 2012 at Munch Gallery.

Scooter and I in the early 90's

Recently Scooters empire has expanded into a clothing line. Acclaimed designer / stylist David Dalrymple teams up with Scooter to create label Dalrymple Laforge. Where art and fashion crash! Scooter did a filthy dirty t-shirt design for me titled “Juanita Sucks Cock” that sold out three prints runs – it was based off of a sticker he originally designed in 1996. He is constantly working and creating new and exciting things. At the moment he resides in the East Village and works from his painting studio in Chinatown.

Juanita Sucks Cock T-shirt by Scooter LaForge

Scooter LaForge answers my foodie questionnaire here:
What is your favorite dessert?

That is really hard – right now I’d say rice pudding. But it changes all the time… depending on the weather and season.  I also LOVE berries.

What restaurant would you call your home?

There is a really small Mexican place on 1st Ave. between 1st and 2nd Street in NYC called La Puebla.  It is delicious and quick!

Scooter collaborated on work with my favorite furniture designer Antoine Proulx

What is the strangest or most inspiring thing you’ve ever eaten?
Bugs at a Japanese restaurant with my friend Tim.  I used to eat June bugs when I was a kid.

What was your favorite breakfast cereal as a kid?
My mom would not let us have sugar cereals, we always had oatmeal…

What is your favorite food to pig-out on after the club?
I LOVE MENUDO, anytime after the club.. with lemon and fresh onion and cilantro.

Scooter and Nicki Minaj

You can follow Scooters blog – Want Some Candy.

