Kevin Kauer Eats Out

Kevin Kauer

I love Seattle. And Kevin is a big part of why I love it so much. There isn’t a trip or a reason when I’m there, that we don’t hang out together. He is an amazing party promoter, DJ and photographer and has included me at numerous events in Seattle. He is also one of my many vegetarian friends. Kevin is one of the gracious ones, that never has a problem following me around from restaurant to restaurant on my world-wide, never-ending meat tasting tour. Currently he is relaunching his amazing Nark Magazine in March. And he is also lining up things for his big Pride Party in June at Neumos (Friday, June 22nd) which will include Hi Fashion, JD Samson, Phyllis Navidad and Sharon Needles. Every Sunday you can find him at The Cuff and creating the Bottom Forty queer DJ Collective.

What is your favorite dessert?

I fell hard for island produced honey while consuming açaí bowls in Hawaii. I landed up finding the best around and ordering a tub of it – Royal Hawaiian Macadamia Nut Blossom, buy one –  seriously you won’t be disappointed. When it comes to desserts, layer it into some ice cream and wait until it freezes. It’s pretty much the bee’s knees – well, you get it.

What restaurant would you call your home?

Vegan / vegetarian restaurants are my favorite. Regardless of not being a meat-eater, I like to see how different places take on the task of creating alternatives to food that most people aren’t used to or instinctually dislike because it’s not “real”. I rarely make a trip to San Francisco without visiting Herbivore at least once, they have an array of delicious, creative and non-pretentious foods and desserts. At home in Seattle, I don’t think anyone handles their gourmet eats better than Cafe Flora, their vegan gluten-free pizza is the best I’ve had. Their cookbook is a great buy for any foodie, especially a vegetarian.

What is the strangest or most inspiring thing you’ve ever eaten?

The most inspiring food / cooking experience I’ve had was when I was staying out on a friend’s farmland. Getting to pull our eggs from the coop, and a wide array of produce right out of the ground, and then lay it out in front of us and come up with a meal was so great, made me wish I could have a garden and my own chickens! The salads were so refreshing, and we coddled one of Wine Dot’s eggs (that handsome chicken in the photo) to make the dressing.

Kevin answers my foodie questionnaire here:

What was your favorite breakfast cereal as a kid?

Fruity Pebbles, but my mom rarely ever bought it for me since it was basically kiddie crystal.

What is your favorite food to pig-out on after the club?

BURRITOS. Everyone knows this. I think I almost got a burrito tattoo last time I was in town actually. Sadly it doesn’t happen here in Seattle because there isn’t anywhere around with decent Mexican food (at least not on Capitol Hill), so we settle for our street meat; cream cheese and onion hot dogs (tofurkey dogs in my case), or Big Mario’s which may possibly have the best pizza anywhere, if you can deal with the block long line of drunken hipsters.

Kevin and I by Keith Johnson

