Sofrito

Sofrito is to many kitchens the staple of flavor in the majority of dishes. I use it mainly when cooking the dishes of my Puerto Rican decent. But I also use it in other things when I need these few simple flavors to spice up a dish. Most home cooks adjust the type of ingredients involved to fit their taste. It’s one of those things that is made different by each cook. And that’s how it should be made. Some cooks like to add capers, recao leaves (hard to find but very similar in taste to cilantro), aijes (chili pepper) and olive or vegetable oil. This version has been loosely translated from my family – it is used as a base seasoning sauce when cooking beans, rice dishes, sauces, soups and stews.

Sofrito

1 large onion, chopped coarsely
1 green bell pepper, chopped coarsely
1 red bell pepper, chopped coarsely
1 head of garlic, peeled
1 bunch of cilantro
1 bunch green onions
2 tablespoons vinegar

Place all of the ingredients in a blender or food processor and puree until smooth. The sauce is ready to use or can be frozen at this point. When using the sofrito consider adding it to dishes at the same time you would add chopped onions and garlic to be sauteed. My grandmother taught me to freeze it in ice cube trays for later use. I keep a special tray just for this purpose!

