Brandon Norris Eats Out

Brandon at Booty Call Wednesdays

My son Brandon has been living abroad in London for a little over 2 1/2 years now. Before he left the USA, he was our photographer at the weekly party Booty Call Wednesdays. He helped develop a great style at the party and brought a multitude of love, talent and energy into that back room. While living in San Francisco he shared a big passion for cooking and baking. But it was his love of books that most inspired me. He was never without a new one in his hands.

Brandon and Kyle

He and his partner Kyle currently work in the art department of a facility that does post-production and visual effects for film.  It’s one of the biggest vendors of its kind in London. Some of their most recent films include Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy, Sherlock Holmes, War Horse, Wrath of the Titans, and the Harry Potters. He still keeps up with his photography and has recently gotten involved in post-production on a friends independent film. Since their move – Brandon and Kyle have been traveling throughout Europe and Northern Africa, visiting places they have only dreamt of.

Brandon answers my foodie questionnaire here – in his best “Madonna” accent:

What is your favorite dessert?

You might expect me to say spotted dick here, but my favorite dessert since moving to London would have to be sticky toffee pudding.  At first I was expecting the kind of “pudding” that Bill Cosby used to advertise when I was a kid, but that was before I knew that the Brits refer to most of their desserts as puddings.  Sticky Toffee basically consists of dates, butter, sugar, and flour, and with a bit of custard on the side, it’s the ultimate comfort desert.  Nom nom nom.

What restaurant would you call your home?

I’d have to say the Hoxton Breakfast Club.  Despite the mediocre food and horrific service, the place has an unmistakeable charm.

What is the strangest or most inspiring thing you’ve ever eaten?

Haggis.  Cooked in a sheep’s stomach, it consists of minced heart, liver and lungs (also from the sheep), amongst other savory bits.  I thought it would be as rank as it sounds, but it was shockingly good.  Best enjoyed on Burns Night in the company of burly Scotsmen, single malt whiskey, and deep fried Mars bars.

What was your favorite breakfast cereal as a kid?

Cap’n Crunch with Crunch Berries!  My brother and I would eat all the little yellow bits first, saving the crunch berries for last.  Then we’d count each crunch berry to see who had the most, before slurping down the stained pink milk.  My brother always reported having more crunch berries than I did, but he was also known for cheating at Monopoly (never to be trusted as the banker), so I suspect his numbers were inflated.

What is your favorite food to pig-out on after the club?

American hot pizza (with Indian hot sauce on the side) from the local chip shop.  Spicy.

