I love making guacamole and have watched my friends devour the entire bowl before I’ve even served dinner. Mine is a very simple version. We grew up with a Haas avocado tree in the family backyard. When they were ripe and ready to be picked I would cut them in half and sprinkle salt on them and eat them like a mango. So in making this guacamole I take pleasure in celebrating the richness of the avocado, the heat of some Serrano chilies, the hint of citrus from some freshly chopped cilantro, some tart lime and lots of sea salt.

Juanita’s Guacamole

6 Haas avocados
2 Serrano chilies
Juice of two limes
1/2 bunch chopped cilantro
Sea salt to taste

Peel half of the avocados into a medium-sized bowl and mash into a smooth paste with a potato masher. Dice the remaining avocado into small pieces and a stir into the mashed mixture. Finely dice the Serrano chilies and add 1/2 the amount to the avocados. Squeeze your lime juice in and add the chopped cilantro and salt to taste. Add more chilies if you like some more heat.

Of course I love this with corn tortilla chips – but my favorite is to top a carnitas taco with it.

Enjoy!

