I’ve sang praises about award-winning / Iron Chef Traci Des Jardins many times in the past. But as the month of June quickly heads to its end – the only thing on my mind is eating any dish Traci serves with foie gras.

I first got a taste of it when she was working at Rubicon and have not had any better since. Every time I stop into her restaurant Jardinere – it’s the first thing I look for on the menu. I’ve been known to sit at the bar (the most genuine bar staff in town) and order the foie gras terrine and also add to that the foie gras appetizer off of the dinner menu. Hey – I’m old enough to do what I want to do.

Starting July 1st California law goes into effect banning foie gras. We will be the first state in the country to ban it. And that is hard to swallow from a San Francisco foodie. The ban has spun a frenzy – driving the demand and prices at its highest. I’m gonna try to see Traci as often as I can this month – I sure hope she has stocked up.

Eat me is what I have to say to the California legislature that passed the law in 2004.

