Squash Blossom Soup

I love walking by a produce stand during the summer and seeing a big pile of squash blossoms. There bright color always catches me by surprise. Stuffing them with cheese and frying them seems to be their most familiar face on a menu. At home I find that too much work. I prefer them in a simple soup. Their delicate summer flavor deserves to be highlighted.

The following recipe is inspired by the cookbook author Diana Kennedy. Her book The Art of Mexican Cooking has been a staple in my kitchen since it was first printed in 1989. This recipe is so simple I don’t see the need to add any measurements or much direction.

Coarsely chop a big bunch of squash blossoms (remove the stems) and place into two large soup bowls. Heat some homemade chicken stock to a boil and pour over the chopped squash blossoms. Let your guests garnish the soup with chopped white onion, diced serrano chiles, queso fresco, chopped cilantro and a little chopped chipolte chile. If you want a more substantial soup – add some cooked white rice and shredded cooked chicken.

Serve with warm corn tortillas.

