Jason Krause Eats Out

Image by Dan Ostergren

Image by Dan Ostergren

Jason and I recently fell in love at Booty Call Wednesdays. And, since that initial meeting he hasn’t made it any easier to fall out of love with him – especially with all of his late night sexy texting. The best part is that he keeps threatening to come back to SF for a visit and if it doesn’t happen soon, I’ll just have to jump on a plane to Portland and leave some glitter and feathers all over his apartment.

Jason knows more than just a thing or two about food. He is a culinary graduate from Le Cordon Blue in Portland and comes from a family which boasts a grandfather and uncle who both owned bakeries in his home state of Missouri. Most recently he updated his grandfathers recipe for a creme cake – omitting the lard for a version that was “all natural and earth friendly” – even getting a stamp of approval from his grandmother!

Currently Jason is embarking on a new adventure – in fashion. This new turn comes from a long habit of making bow ties for himself and friends out of vintage fabric. These of course will not be the easy-does-it 1970’s clip-on type either. The line of custom made bow ties will be called Stiff Knot by Krause. We are currently talking about producing a limited edition bow tie featuring fabric from one of my iconic dresses!

If you are not into bow ties or creme cakes – you too can drool over shirtless pictures of Jason on Instagram.

Image by Gabe Ayala for Type / Face Magazine

Image by Gabe Ayala for Type / Face Magazine

Jason answers my foodie questionnaire here:

What is your favorite dessert?

I have an insatiable sweet tooth!! Gets me into trouble sometimes. I’ve defiantly been caught with my hand in the cookie jar. But if I were to pick one favorite dessert it would be the magnificent marriage of a buttery salty cake and macerated strawberries. Strawberry shortcake! A la mode? Don’t mind if I do!

What restaurant would you call your home?

Home, in the form of a dining establishment would be Little Big Burger! Beyond the fact they are one block away from me – they really do cook a mean burger. Local ingredients, 40s, and this fantastic secret dipping sauce…I’m a saucy boy, what can I say.

What is the strangest or most inspiring thing you’ve ever eaten?

Pig snout count? It’s only pork but a bit out there. Inspiring perhaps because it was a huge gathering of us mates for a float trip and after the long float, sun and beer soaked bodies, we gathered and spit roasted an entire pig over the camp fire. Apple in mouth and all. Was a tasty reward!

What was your favorite breakfast cereal as a kid?

My favorite sugar coated kernel as a kid would have to be Corn Pops!! Salty sweet! The best!

What is your favorite food to pig-out on after the club?

Thank goodness for the many food carts that stay open late after hours to feed our beast within. My fav goes back and forth currently between pork sliders or the breakfast burrito. Usually they don’t last and I’m taking the last bite as I step up to the door of my building. Now I’m hungry!

Jason Krause

