chefbios_judyrodgers_kim_kulish-corbis

Such sad news to hear that Judy Rodgers of Zuni Cafe passed away today. She inspired me greatly with her simple and authentic food. I have been dining at Zuni Cafe since before Judy started working there in 1987. And have always considered it to be the truest of San Francisco restaurants. The staff, guests and food reflect everything there is to love about our foodie city.  The Zuni Cafe cookbook authored by Judy is complex – but with results that are always perfection. Judy’s idea to roast an entire chicken has stood the test of time at the restaurant – and it’s one of  the recipes one that I most love to share with friends at home.

Bevan Dufty and I enjoying oysters at Zuni Cafe bar. Image by Allen Jordan

Bevan Dufty and I enjoying oysters at Zuni Cafe bar. Image by Allen Jordan

