Russell Tovey is an English actor with numerous television, film and stage credits. He is now currently playing Kevin Matheson on the HBO original hit series Looking. This queer friend story is in its second season -filming 10 episodes in San Francisco. The series is set to air at 10PM on Sunday, January 11, 2015. Russell and I are both die-hard Frenchie owners and lovers. We both spend way too much of our time posting pics of our beloved little pooches on our social media platforms – you must follow Russell on Instagram to see all the cute pics of his handsome son Rocky! Someday our two little beasts shall meet. When Russell is not busy busting his acting chops on set – he’s following me around San Francisco.

Russell and I at The deYoung Museum for the Tiara Sensation Pageant - an annual drag show!
Russell and I at The deYoung Museum for the Tiara Sensation Pageant. Image / Robbie Sweeny Photography

What is your favorite dessert?
Cheesecake. Growing up as a kid in the UK we have a dessert called vienetta – which is basically an ice cream loaf… I was obsessed with that!

What restaurant would you call your home in San Francisco?
Squat & Gobble this year – last year it was Orphan Andy’s.

What is the strangest or most inspiring thing you’ve ever eaten?
I ate fried crickets as part of a play performance in London once. Totally gross. I have also chewed on a witchetty grub in Australia. Also seriously totally gross.

What was your favorite breakfast cereal as a kid?
I grew up cereal obsessed. Still am. I would eat cereal at every meal break if I could. Fruit Loops were my dream cereal as a kid after visiting Disney World and discovering them in the hotel buffet. We didn’t get them in England. I even wrote to Kellogg’s as a 7 year old asking them why they weren’t stocked there. Apparently it had something to do with the amount of sugar in them that didn’t pass UK guidelines. At the time I was devastated. Looking back it was probably for the best.

What is your favorite food to pig-out on after the club?
I am sure everyone says pizza? My go to is either peanut butter on brown toast or a grilled fish finger sandwich. And if neither of them are available – Fruit Loops!

Russell stopped into QBar to say hello at Booty Call Wednesdays.

Russell stopped into QBar to say hello at Booty Call Wednesdays. Image / Shot In The City

