Jonathan Groff

Jonathan Groff

Jonathan Groff is an American stage actor and singer. I first jumped on the Jonathan bandwagon when he guest starred on Glee as the antagonistic character Jesse St. James. And then again when he appeared as Ian Todd in the second and final season of the TV series BossIt was on this series that I became obsessed with everything Jonathan! We recently got to hang out while planning the birthday party for Human Rights Activist Cleve Jones. Cleve had requested Jonathan sing The Flesh Failures / Let The Sun Shine In from the musical Hair – which Jonathan played the role of Claude in the 2007 rival. I got to cook dinner for Jonathan and the boys that would sing backup with him and was delighted to see the table light up when the platters of food arrived. His voice is magic and it gave me chills to hear it live in my apartment. Jonathan is currently in San Francisco filming the HBO series Looking, in the starring role of relationship confused Patrick Murray.

Jonathan Groff, Juanita MORE! and Cleve Jones Image / Georg Lester Photography

Jonathan Groff, Juanita MORE! and Cleve Jones Image / Georg Lester Photography

What is your favorite dessert?
It would have to be my mom’s pumpkin pie that she makes every Thanksgiving. We finish shooting season two right before Thanksgiving, so I’ll be eating a lot of that pie as I try to climb out of my post Looking depression…

What restaurant would you call your home in San Francisco?
That’s a tie between Kitchen Story, The Grind, and Bi Rite.

What is the strangest or most inspiring thing you’ve ever eaten?
Eating cakes from Sweet Inspiration at night inspires me to exercise the following morning.

What was your favorite breakfast cereal as a kid?
Golden Grahams. And I loved brown sugar pop tarts.

What is your favorite food to pig-out on after the club?
A cheeseburger with sweet potato fries, a side of mayo, and a bottomless diet coke.

Jonathan and Jackson.

Jonathan and Jackson.