photo 3

I’ve written about brownies before – specifically about Brigette’s Brownies. They still standout as the benchmark for my favorite brownie. Over the years I have fallen in love with others but always end up comparing everything to hers. It has been impossible to find Brigette or her brownies and that seems like such an easy feat in our world of modern technology. So yet again, I’ve tried to recreate them. My memory recalls a dark chocolate brownie with lots of chunks of chocolate – all made with just a few great ingredients. I know she used dark Belgian Callebaut Chocolate (she would buy it in 11 pound blocks), eggs, flour and butter – at least that’s all I could see on her apartment shelves. I’ve dug around for recipes that only used these things and have adapted this recipe from two that I thought were close – one from pastry chef David Lebovitz (whose Paris based blog I follow religiously) and one from Martha Stewart. I think these are great – but don’t be surprised if I post another recipe in the future.

 photo 1

photo 2

6 ounces unsalted butter, melted
8 ounces Callebaut bittersweet chocolate, melted
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 large eggs
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
4 ounces Callebaut bittersweet chocolate chunks

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Brush a 9-inch square baking pan with melted butter; line with a strip of parchment paper, leaving an overhang on two sides, and brush paper with more melted butter.

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour and the salt, set aside. In another medium bowl, whisk together the sugar, melted chocolate, eggs, and melted butter until combined; add flour mixture, and mix vigourously for 1 minute.

Spread batter in prepared pan; sprinkle top with the chocolate chunks. Bake until a toothpick inserted in center of cake comes out with a few moist crumbs attached, 30 to 35 minutes.

Cool completely in pan. Use paper overhang to lift cake from pan; peel off paper, and discard. Cut into 16 squares. You can also refrigerate this and then cut them for absolutely perfect squares.

photo (24)

