I have had some crazy Jello Salads in my life and pretty much think they are gross. Every one of my aunts had one they considered their specialty and they would bust them out at every family gathering. The one I actually looked forward to was made by godmother. She made this Strawberry, pineapple and banana salad every year at Thanksgiving. I am not a Jello lover – though every now and then I make this just to con jour up memories of how fabulous my godmother was. I remember when I was around eight years old she would encourage me to spend an afternoon in her kitchen with a recipe – and she would celebrate the results no matter how terrible the dish turned out. She enjoyed cooking and entertaining and always threw big lavish holiday parties.

My godmother at age 13. She borrowed some lipstick and the fur from a friend to take this picture.

My godmother at age 13. In a borrowed fur and a friends lipstick.

Strawberry, pineapple and banana salad

2-6 oz. boxes Strawberry Jell-O

4 cups boiling water

1 pound frozen strawberries, do not drain

1 can – crushed pineapple, do not drain

½ cup sour cream

4 -6 bananas, sliced

Place the strawberry gelatin in a medium heatproof bowl. Stir in the boiling water and mix well to dissolve the gelatin. Whisk in the sour cream.

Add the strawberries and crushed pineapple. Stir until well combined. Place in oblong glass dish and refrigerate for two hours. Remove and add the sliced bananas folding them into the mixture.

Chill until overnight until set.

photo (29)

