Wesley Taylor Eats Out

Wesley Taylor

I got to meet Wes when he was in San Francisco starring as Michael “Mouse” Tolliver in the world-premiere musical Tales of the City (based on the book series by Armistead Maupin), at the American Conservatory Theatre. In the middle of the second act Wes (as Mouse) sings the coming out song “Dear Mama” – and in the half-dozen times I saw the production there never was a dry eye in the house. My tears continued as my phone starting ringing in my purse – I had too many drinks during intermission in the lobby and forgot to turn it off. He has the most infectious smile and delightfully devilish demeanor. We didn’t get to share any food together while he was here – but we did share some beverages – so I’m gonna count that as food intake.

Wesley Taylor as Michael “Mouse” Tolliver in Tales of the City The Musical

He is currently on Smash, NBC’s new TV series about producing a Broadway show. Wesley plays Bobby, a flamboyant ensemble member who is not afraid to say what is on his mind. (That last sentence was lifted off of Wikepedia – the term flamboyant is an understatement).

“Flamboyant”

Wes Taylor answers my foodie questionnaire here:

What is your favorite dessert?
Banana ice cream on top of brownies…you know, healthy stuff.

What restaurant would you call your home?
Well, the restaurants that I’ve probably spent the most time in are Lovely Day in Soho, Caselulla in Hell’s Kitchen, The Grove in San Francisco, and Kitchen in Hollywood. They make me feel cozy and the food is consistent.

What is the strangest or most inspiring thing you’ve ever eaten?
There’s this restaurant in downtown LA called The Gorbals. It’s very hip and has a live band, the head chef is Ilan Hall, I think he won Top Chef…and he cooks some pretty “inspiring” Squid.

What was your favorite breakfast cereal as a kid?
Captain Crunch, hands down.

What is your favorite food to pig-out on after the club?
Fast Food. In&Out / Mc Donald’s / Chick-Fil-A (but I’m boycotting because those waffle fries are bigoted).

Image by Corey Hayes